State Street Announces Winners of 2018 UK Institutional Press Awards


Friday, November 9, 2018 10:58 am EST


"With more than 140 entries submitted this year, the awards continue to recognise exceptional journalism and acknowledge the vital role that the press plays in providing information and a platform for opinion, education and debate."

State Street Corporation (NYSE: STT), announced today the winners of its seventeenth annual State Street Institutional Press Awards, which recognises outstanding performance in institutional financial services reporting in the UK.

Building on the success of previous years, the 2018 awards honour the contributions of journalists covering institutional investment, pensions, investor services, technology and diversity & inclusion themes over the past year.

Entries were judged by an independent panel of industry professionals led by Julian Marr, editor of Professional Adviser and Padraig Floyd, a veteran financial journalist. They were supported by a five-strong panel of respected figures from the UK and European financial services industry, including Malcolm McLean, OBE, from Barnett Waddingham; CNBC Anchor, Karen Tso; Richard Butcher, PLSA Chair; and freelance journalists Gill Wadsworth and Lynn Strongin Dodds.

The journalists were honoured at a luncheon in London hosted by Liz Nolan, State Street’s chief executive officer for EMEA and Miles O’Connor, EMEA head of Institutional at State Street Global Advisors.

“We congratulate all shortlisted journalists and winners,” said Nolan. “With more than 140 entries submitted this year, the awards continue to recognise exceptional journalism and acknowledge the vital role that the press plays in providing information and a platform for opinion, education and debate.”

Winners and Shortlists:

1.       Journalist of the Year – Pensions:

  • Sophia Imeson, Pensions Expert [Winner]
  • James Phillips, Professional Pensions [Shortlisted]
  • Carlos Martin Tornero, Responsible Investor [Shortlisted]


2.       Journalist of the Year – Regulation:

  • Attracta Mooney, FTfm [Winner]
  • James Phillips, Professional Pensions [Shortlisted]
  • Lucy McNulty, Financial News [Shortlisted]
  • Ed Moisson, Ignites Europe [Shortlisted]
  • Carlos Martin Tornero, Responsible Investor [Shortlisted]


3.       Journalist of the Year – Investment:

  • Attracta Mooney, FTfm [Winner]
  • Daniel Brooksbank, Responsible Investor [Shortlisted]
  • Brian Bollen, Freelancer [Shortlisted]
  • Carlos Martin Tornero, Responsible Investor [Shortlisted]
  • Charlotte Moore, Freelancer [Shortlisted]


4.       Journalist of the Year – Business Market Commentary:

  • Clem Chambers, Freelancer [Winner]
  • Stephanie Baxter, Professional Pensions [Shortlisted]
  • Brian Bollen, Freelancer [Shortlisted]


5.       Journalist of the Year – Investor Services:

  • Carlos Martin Tornero, Responsible Investor [Winner]
  • Joe Parsons, Global Custodian [Shortlisted]
  • Luke Clancy, [Shortlisted]


6.       Journalist of the year – Alternatives:

  • Paul Hodkinson, Financial News [Winner]
  • Alex Lynn, Private Equity International [Shortlisted]
  • Joice Alves, Private Equity News [Shortlisted]


7.       Journalist of the Year – Passive Investment / Indexing (including ETFs):

  • Mark Cobley, Financial News [Winner]
  • David Ricketts, Financial News [Shortlisted]
  • Rebecca Hampson, Freelancer [Shortlisted]


8.       Journalist of the Year – Data, Technology & Innovation:

  • Galen Stops, Profit & Loss [Winner]
  • Luke Clancy, [Shortlisted]
  • Ian Allison, Coindesk [Shortlisted]


9.       Journalist of the Year – Diversity & Inclusion:

  • Becky Pritchard, Financial News [Winner]
  • Steve O’Hear, Techcrunch [Shortlisted]
  • Elizabeth Pfeuti, Rhotic Media [Shortlisted]


10.    Award for Best Breaking News Journalist of the Year:

  • Madison Marriage, Financial Times [Winner]
  • James Phillips, Professional Pensions [Shortlisted]
  • Baptiste Aboulian, Ignites Europe [Shortlisted]
  • Attracta Mooney, FTfm [Shortlisted]


11.    Award for Best Newcomer:

  • Alex Janiaud, Pensions Expert [Winner]
  • Madeleine Farman, Real Deals [Shortlisted]
  • Kim Kaveh, Professional Pensions [Shortlisted]
  • Nell Mackenzie, Global Capital [Shortlisted]


12.    Award for Best Editorial Comment:

  • David Wighton, Financial News [Winner]
  • Mark Cobley, Financial News [Shortlisted]
  • Paul Hodkinson, Financial News [Shortlisted]


13.    Outstanding Contribution to Institutional Journalism 2018:

  • John Authers [Bloomberg]


About State Street Corporation

State Street Corporation (NYSE: STT) is one of the world's leading providers of financial services to institutional investors, including investment servicing, investment management and investment research and trading. With $33.99 trillion in assets under custody and administration and $2.81 trillion* in assets under management as of September 30, 2018, State Street operates in more than 100 geographic markets worldwide, including the US, Canada, Europe, the Middle East and Asia. For more information, visit State Street’s website at

*This figure is presented as of September 30, 2018 and includes approximately $28 billion of assets with respect to SPDR products for which State Street Global Advisors Funds Distributors, LLC (SSGA FD) acts solely as the marketing agent. SSGA FD and State Street Global Advisors are affiliated.

Tracking Number: 2310197.1.1.EMEA.PR

Expiration date: 11/30/2019

Media Contacts

Contact a member of the State Street Media Relations Team.

Social Media

Business Wire NewsHQ℠